The Topkapi Palace in Istanbul was the centre of Ottoman power from 1465 until 1853, when the sultan moved his court to the Dolmabahçe Palace. In 1924 the Topkapi Palace was made into a museum. It houses a large collection of the sultans' and the princes' clothing, representing the finest examples of Ottoman textile production and needlework.

Dundee University houses a substantial collection of embroideries and related textiles that were donated to the Dundee College of Art (now called the Duncan of Jordanstone College and part of the University of Dundee). The embroideries were donated after 1961 by the Needlework Development Scheme.

The Resistance Museum (Verzetsmuseum) Amsterdam houses a number of special objects that are closely related to the war-time period of German occupation of The Netherlands between 1940 and 1945. Some of these objects were on display at the 2012 exhibition Elke dag een draadje …Borduren in gevangenschap 1940-1945 ('Everyday a little thread. Embroidering in prison, 1940-1945').

The Victoria and Albert Museum (V&A) is a major decorative arts and design museum in London, England. The V&A was founded in 1852 following the success of the Great Exhibition of 1851 (London), which included many hand and machine made items from around the globe.

Waddesdon Manor, at Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire, UK, houses a collection of more than 15000 works of art and other objects, collected by the Rothschild family. The collection is especially famous for its eighteenth century French porcelain and textiles.

The Wemyss School of Needlework was a hand embroidery school based in Wemyss Castle, Fife, Scotland. It was founded in 1877 by Dora Wemyss, who was inspired by the Kensington School of Art Needlework, later known as the Royal School of Needlework.

The Whitworth Art Gallery ("The Whitworth") in Manchester was established in 1889 with the name of the Whitworth Institute and Park, on the basis of a bequest by Sir Joseph Whitworth (1803-1887). The founder was Robert Darbishire. Since 1958 it forms part of the Victoria University of Manchester (now the University of Manchester).

Page 3 of 3